30th EDSA Anniversary, One Republic’s Something I Need and Dying to Self

Standard

Woke up today hearing OneRepublic’s Something I Need song in my mind. Don’t know why. Read my Bible. Checked the news. And now, using logic to connect the three.

 

People Power Anniversary

Today marks the 30th anniversary of one of the most historical rallies in the world– EDSA People Power! It wasn’t just a rally. It was a nation clamoring for change. It was more than just a clamor, it was the citizens’ LOVE for nation that made them go out to the streets and risk what they had, their very lives.

 

Something I Need

Been running on my mind. OneRepublic has the knack of writing songs that not just resound in the listeners’ minds but in their hearts as well. I really didn’t know the exact lyrics so I looked up and here’s the part that I can sing… oh no, I can’t sing well. But let me put it up here:

You got something I need

In this world full of people there’s one killing me

And if we only die once,

I wanna die with you

What a love song! LOVE that goes as far as DEATH.

 

Dying to Self

EDSA People Power– love for nation goes as far as dying for country.

Something I Need– love for someone goes as far as dying for him/her.

Both these require DYING TO SELF. Sounds difficult for a selfie generation. This concept led me back to this Bible verse:

23 And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. 24 For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it.

-Luke 9:23, 24

There’s a love worthy of death. Something that transcends beyond this lifetime, something… eternal. The past weeks have been full of hatred globally. But greater love led one life to death for all so our sins would have to be paid for– the death of Jesus Christ. This is for all. Not just to this kind of sin or that. But for all including the ones who think they don’t have one and easy to cast stones. For all.

This revelation of God’s love brought about love revolution. A revolution that allows one to die to self.

In simple terms, because God loves me, Jesus Christ became the sacrifice to pay the penalty of my sins. Now, I can love Him. Because I love God, I will follow Jesus. To follow Jesus, I have to die to myself.

This is, to me, the most powerful revolution I’ve experienced in my own heart. That’s why I can sing the song thinking about Jesus Christ.

You got something I need

In this world full of people there’s one killing me

And if we only die once,

I wanna die with you

Now that was random! Anyway, ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY!

Leave a Reply

