What Christ-followers Like Me Must Learn from Justin Bieber’s Complex Interview

Standard

Justin Bieber, at 20, suddenly makes a surprising twist through his interview with Complex Magazine’s Joe La Puma. For the complete article, you may read it at Complex.com. Thousands, if not millions, are now sharing, reposting, retweeting this article. As for me, I’d like to list down four things you and I (as Christ-followers) can learn or relearn (I think that sounds better) from Bieber’s words.

   1.  Heartbroken teenagers need Jesus Christ so much, I need to preach the gospel to them.

Love is a choice. Love is not a feeling. People have made it seem in movies that it’s this fairy tale. That’s not what love is. You’re not gonna want to love your girl sometimes but you’re gonna choose to love her. That’s something in life that I had to figure out. I can’t lean on people. I got to lean on God. I gotta trust in him through all my situations. Then, hopefully, my other relationships will flourish around me.

This is one of the reasons why we keep preaching the gospel to students. They’re at a vulnerable season and heartbreaks are just around the corner. When they encounter it but have Jesus Christ, they know who to run to and who to trust more than people.

  2.  I need to keep getting better as a communicator so the gospel can be preached more effectively.

Some people are bad communicators. They find something that works so well for them and they wanna share it, but they don’t know how to share it so they’re kind of pushy. There’s a lot of really weird stuff going on at churches.

Some Christians don’t mean to be legalistic. Some are just bad communicators. Some are just plain legalistic. This world can’t afford to have these choices. It should not even be a choice between these two.

Some teens now are not in church because of how some Christians like us have acted otherwise. If you’re one who’s had a bad taste of Christianity, I’m sorry you had to go through that. For now, I pray that you would be able to meet people who will do it better this time in spurring you on to Christlikeness. Maybe start by reading the Bible.

3.  Going to Taco Bell doesn’t make me a taco. Going to church doesn’t automatically make me a Christian as well.

I think that going to church is fellowship, it’s relationship, it’s what we’re here on the earth to do, to have this connection that you feel there’s no insecurities. I think that’s where we need to be. Like I said, you don’t need to go to church to be a Christian. If you go to Taco Bell, that doesn’t make you a taco.

Haha! Taco! That was funny!!! But yes, being part of a church is more than just attendance. We don’t fight for being there per se, we fight for our relationships– the church community. Walking with people with the same mission, values, culture.

4.  The message of Jesus Christ can’t end with me.

We have the greatest healer of all and his name is Jesus Christ. And he really heals. This is it. It’s time that we all share our voice.

“Jesus Christ has changed me.” Period? No! It can’t end in us. If it does, it’s like hiding a big box of gift from someone who needs it so much. We ought to preach the gospel to others.

GENTLE REMINDER:

To everyone who gets to read this though, a little reminder– Justin Bieber is just like everyone else who’s following Jesus. Follow not him but the one he’s following. This interview does not mean an end to the not-so-good news we hear here and there about him. But we pray for spiritual progress as he continues to be a disciple.

Leave a Reply

